My quest to become one with my camera.

Waterton Lakes National Park Day Trip

We are lucky enough to live within a few hours of the most beautiful National Parks in Canada.  We decided to make a trip to Waterton Lakes National Park as I had never been there before.  We both found we prefer this park over Banff and Jasper and will be going back frequently as there is so much to explore.

Waterton Lakes (Alberta, Canada) and Glacier National Park ( Montana, USA) were designated as the world’s first International Peace Park in 1932. In 1995 UNESCO designated the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park a World Heritage Site. Wildlife such as grizzly bears, black bears, mountain goats, elk, mule deer, white-tailed deer, moose, big-horn sheep, wolves, and coyotes are abundant at this park. There are also over 250 species of birds and 900 species of plants including 6 wild orchids.

These pictures were just a few of my favourites I took that day.  I had to include the iconic Prince of Wales Hotel built in 1926, Lower, Middle and Upper Waterton Lakes, and Cameron Lake where you can kayak across and touch the glacier.  We were also  lucky enough to see a mother bear and her two very young cubs, not a great picture but I wasn’t ready with my camera at that moment and they had to be chased off the roadway quickly.

 

 

19 responses

  1. Beautiful Landscapes !

    July 26, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    • Thank you….hard to take a bad shot of such beautiful scenery 🙂

      July 27, 2011 at 2:55 pm

  2. TBM

    Nice photos. Love the bear cub!

    July 27, 2011 at 10:46 am

    • Right place at the right time on that one 🙂

      July 27, 2011 at 2:56 pm

  3. What a fantastic park! The Prince of Wales Hotel looks idyllic.

    July 31, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  4. What an absolutely beautiful place! really superb photos – I want to go there now… 🙂

    August 1, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    • The Rockies are so beautiful, amust see for sure 🙂

      August 7, 2011 at 3:44 am

  5. Oh my daze, what stunning photos!

    August 6, 2011 at 8:29 pm

  6. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    August 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm

  7. Now this looks way more pleasant than the photos I posted for this challenge… I clearly need to choose a better season next time I visit the Rockies!

    August 6, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    • Summer’s the only time to visit the Rockies in my opinion and I only live 2 hours away lol.

      August 7, 2011 at 3:40 am

  8. beautiful, thanks for sharing.

    August 7, 2011 at 8:15 pm

  9. Wonderful photos. I’ve found it hard to comment, I’m so busy scrolling up and down. What a beautiful place!

    September 9, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  10. It is beautiful. Thanks for your lovely comment, I appreciate it 🙂

    September 9, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  11. These wildlife shots are great. What I wouldn’t give to live in that beautiful structure, on that water, in the shadow of those mountains. What a beautiful location. Thank you for sharing.

    September 11, 2011 at 12:58 am

    • We do live in a beautiful part of the world and I am trying not to take it for granted as I have for most of my time in Canada.

      September 11, 2011 at 1:11 am

Leave a Reply

